Z – It’s a Mirage

042117_1128_1.pngDon’t you love it when ideas effervesce and your mind froths with enthusiasm.  You have a brilliant theme for the A – Z Challenge and are brimful of confidence.  It was easy to see how reflecting on values had potential to see one through the challenge.  I know.  Too easy.  Except it was not.  And Zed, is a hurdle I will knock over but, will need the freedom of blogger’s licence to stretch this post to the finishing line.

The truth is the finishing line remains out there.  It is something others cross yet the sight of it paralyses me.  The sight of the prize, the finish, is a mirage towards which others pound headlong.  Me!  I start to sink, leaden feet make progress effortful.  I think of myself as a sprinter, good for short frenetic bursts.    What is the problem with this final post in the series?

I’m resistant.  To what?  To the final full stop?  Facing the challenge ahead of me?  Like tomorrow!  Yes, I am resistant, in denial and pulling the covers over my head and hibernating until Spring is an avoidant strategy that has appeal.  But that is not an option because unlike the animal kingdom that accepts hibernation as normal, homo sapiens is driven to perform, achieve and move on.

Written in advance, the A – Y posts were scheduled.  Zzzz – has heavy feet and her muse remains elusive.  What can I say?  I had a plan, not a grand plan,  but a good enough plan … except Z was not part of the plan.  And therein lies the rub.    When I committed to the challenge I had a clear pathway along which to create.  That changed partway through April as unexpected events invaded this creative space.

The final stumbling block has been the software I use when writing:  Hemingway Editor.  The last upgrade messed with its brain (and by default mine).  Seems there is a syntax error at 499 or whatever and with JSONs not doing what they’re supposed to the whole thing has fallen in a heap – like it is stacking up so many Zedzzzz.

RIP Hemingway Editor … zzzzzzzz

What’s that you say?  A poor workman blames his tools!  Not listening … zzzzzz.

22 thoughts on “Z – It’s a Mirage

  1. Great piece, I found the found that last letter hard to conquer too, but so glad I managed. It’s been wonderful visiting other people’s blogs I think I’ll be spending the next month trying to have a look at everyone’s work, no time during the challenge as I had only written a couple in advance …. at leat I will know for next time!

    Sandra, dropping by from the A to Z Challenge
    Aspiring family historian, fellow participant in the #AtoZchallenge
    http://ancestralresearchjournal.blogspot.com.au/ – Sandra’s Ancestral Research Journal

    Liked by 1 person

    • By the time Z rolled around I was ready for a break. Most posts were scheduled at least a week in advance but I ran out of steam the last couple of days. Nevermind we’re over the finishing line and we can be proud of our 26 posts during the challenge. I will also be visiting other bloggers’ contributions in the weeks/months ahead and taking a little break from my own writing. Thank you for visiting and stopping to comment. Take care Linda 🙂

      Like

    • Thank you Karnika, likewise I have enjoyed your posts and will keep up the reads when you post as I plan on following a number of people I found during the challenge. Well done on completing the challenge. I wonder how many words everyone wrote. 🙂 Linda

      Like

    • For me the temptation is to slacken off during the time ahead while spending time visiting other Challenge participants blogging is more than the writing. I like the interaction that happens in the comments, That’s where connection is made. Thank you for stopping by to read and comment.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Why thank you Geraint, I am certainly pleased to have found your and Kim’s blogs. Having been born and raised in Africa (Kenya and South Africa respectively) the photos and fantastic writing that accompanied each post made me yearn to return. Alas, that may not be on the cards so I am grateful others can visit and blog about their adventures. I particularly liked the personal anecdotes peppered throughout they allowed us to get to know you as a person as well as a blogger. Thank you for the visits and comments on my posts, the encouragement has been fantastic. I will be ‘tagging along’ for more of your writing. Take care 🙂 Linda

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much for your words of encouragement and congratulations. I’ll be popping over to visit in the month ahead, have a list of sites I would like to read more on. Take care 🙂 Linda

      Like

  2. Haha! Highly entertaining and original final post, Linda. Congratulations on completing the challenge! I’m so glad I came across your blog as it’s been full of thought-provoking and interesting writing. Looking forward to seeing more from you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well, I had to pull something out of the bag Kim, and nothing was presenting itself. While not scintillating it was a post and yes we all made it to the end. Go us. Thank you for being so encouraging with your comments. I look forward to seeing you on my blog feed in the times ahead. Take care 🙂 Linda

      Liked by 1 person

Your comments here

