Vulnerability

a-to-z HEADER [2017] - april

When you’ve been in boarding school since the age of five, feeling detached and apart from people in general becomes ingrained in your psyche.  You cannot escape feeling detached and when you are scared that others may not want you around because they feel your disconnection.  Those first years in boarding school were like being in a torture chamber of uncertainty:  would anyone want to be my friend, what happens if Iwet my bed (again), why can’t I fit in, how will I know which bells are for which subjects in school, will I have the books in my book bag for the right class.  My anxiety started at five years old. 

What it did was make me more vulnerable and the more my heart ached in my chest the more I disconnected and the more I disconnected the more alone I felt and the more alone I felt the more vulnerable I was.  How does one escape vulnerability?  For me it started when I understood that the underlying emotion was fear.  Fear of rejection, being excluded, not being good enough, smart enough, fast enough, too fat, too clever, too stupid …  Nothing is more certain to hurt us than living.  Even in Church we aren’t immune from hurt.

Vulnerability is that terrible ache in the pit of your stomach that sits like an ice cube and melts your sense of belonging.  We go to great lengths to avoid those feelings and it seems the harder we try the more likely we are to fall, desperately and flat on our faces.  It took me a long time to say the words:  My mother is dead.  I was raw and in complete disbelief that I would no longer hear her laugh, accompany her to watch my brother’s cricket games or listen to her mutt-speak to our dachshund Coco.  I figured if I didn’t say the words they couldn’t be true.

However, what was worse than not being able to say the words were the pitiful looks I got from other people.  I was an object for pity and because of their inability to reach out I avoided talking about my mother’s death and once again I disconnected.  Because the grief was too heavy to bear, I tucked my mother’s death into a dark recess of my young mind and returned to life as I knew it.

In time I came to process and understand the heart aching in my chest and the grief and the feelings of detachment and vulnerability.  They were all connected but I had found a way out of fear and back to relationship.  I could push through those feelings and when I did things got better.  It took courage to reach out, but others were there to take my hand. And then I learned the art of reciprocity and was able to reach out to others and be there to take their hand in compassion to acknowledge their vulnerability and let them know it is okay to feel raw.

The way out of fear of vulnerability is not to nurture a tough exterior.  Rather it is to face life head on with courage, compassion and to connect with those who have earned the right to offer you a hand up.  In Brene Brown’s book The Gifts of Imperfection she says that living wholeheartedly is “about engaging our lives from a place of worthiness.  It is about cultivating the courage, compassion and connection to wake up in the morning and think, No matter what gets done and how much is left undone, I am enough.”  Without realising it I had found these keys to unlocking the vice of fear that had become a stronghold on my ability to connect with others.

Despite our best efforts, the boundaries we have built around our hearts to protect us from feeling pain, discomfort, and hurt are the very chains that keep us tethered to it, disallowing us from feeling the opposites—joy, love and passion.  Riding the pendulum from disconnection and detachment to transparent vulnerability and reconnection took all of my courage, much compassion from others but I am grateful for the connection I now have.  I am careful still to guard my heart and am willing to be vulnerable with people who can hold space for me when I have lost perspective.

The final words belong again to Brene Brown in her book Daring Greatly:  

Vulnerability is the birthplace of love, belonging, joy, courage, empathy, and crativity.  It is the source of hope, empathy, accountability, and authenticity.  If we want greater clarity in our purpose or deeper and ore meaningful spiritual lives, vulnerability is the path.

Over to you.  Has there been a time when you have closed yourself off from the world to nurture a woundedness you ffelt you could not share with another human being?  If you resolved the hurt how did you do so? 

13 thoughts on “Vulnerability

  1. This was such a fantastic read for me. You have touched on so much and most of all I laud your courage to be vulnerable on your blog.
    “The way out of fear of vulnerability is not to nurture a tough exterior. Rather it is to face life head on with courage, compassion and to connect with those who have earned the right to offer you a hand up. ” These are the lines I liked best.
    Venting #Lexicon of Leaving

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a wonderful post, Linda. Very enlightening for sure. Very brace of you to write about it.
    I shut down. I don’t talk about feelings and emotions very often.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Until reading your words, I hadn’t really connected vulnerability with detachment. But you’re exactly right. My experience of vulnerability stems from the fact I’m a very emotional person, I get hurt easily when others are insensitive or lack compassion. And I do shut down and not communicate if I sense a lack of understanding or approachability in others. It can make life pretty difficult. It takes courage to speak up about what I’m feeling because as you say, it’s fear that gets in the way – fear of judgement, harsh words, cold hearts, and worse than all that – indifference.
    Thought provoking post, Linda 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. As always, Linda, a great post. I certainly understand the problem that closing oneself off in order to survive, and how it is destructive to relationships & understanding oneself.
    I haven’t yet read any of Brene Brown’s writing as we were away south, visiting family until last night. As we’ll be off again in a day or two, I may not get to her for a while yet, but I intend to.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. It was an incredible read! I think, in a way sometimes the society passively teach us that vulnerability is a sign of weakness. It makes reaching out a bit difficult … Especially because there is an acute sense of competition in almost everything one just don’t feel safe in showing vulnerability. However, in fact, it does take courage to allow oneself to be vulnerable. I don’t think I have resolved my hurtings, yet.
    Thanks for sharing
    Virtue Of Respect
    Best Wishes!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Naw Karnika I think we would be perfect if we were able to resolve all oiwr hurtings. Beinf alive means we will be hurt either intentionally or not. For those souls blessed with heightened sensitivity it can be a rough road. Bless your heart.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Wonderful post! I suffer still from insecurities that are directly related to my childhood. What person wouldn’t, when their own mother couldn’t (or wouldn’t) love them? I was a disappointment from day one until her last breath, no matter what I did. It still hurts, but I fight against it constantly and try to find strength in myself. It’s an ongoing battle, though.

    Van Scyoc

    Liked by 1 person

  7. This was really beautifully written, Linda. Indeed it does take courage to reach out. There is someone currently in my family who is grappling with just that, and I hope she eventually finds such inner-strength. I’m glad you did.

    Childhood insecurities and fears are powerful. It’s amazing how often they still come back to me, usually in my sleep but not always. – Marty

    Like

Your comments here

