Elevate – A Check In

a-to-z HEADER [2017] - april

Four months into the year and it is time to hit pause and reflect on how I’m doing with the word I chose to guide me through this year:   ELEVATE.   So far this year we’ve charged through ninety-six days yet this is my first reflection on the word that was to have been the focus of my year.

  1. If I were to truly embody ELEVATE this month what would I do?  Where would I go?  What would I say? 

    At the risk of sounding trite and cliche, ELEVATE found me.  The process took longer than previous years so maybe it is no wonder keeping it at the forefront of my day has been a challenge.  However, in the spirit of self-forgiveness I am starting fresh today.  To embody my word this month I plan to live with courage to truly see others.  I know when I feel seen and heard it takes me beyond my challenges and I can feel hopeful.  Where will I go with this embodiment of elevateInto each situation at home, community and work.  Elevating others is easier than keeping myself buoyed up when anxieties hold me back.  What would I say?  I have no idea.  I can be mindful of how my words affect others and be considerate.

  2. How can I bring the spirit of the word into my home? 

    In recent weeks I’ve become stuck in confusion and anxiety and it has stolen my peace and there goes the clam I was hoping for.  In my home this month I am reclaiming the spirit of my word in practising the calm I yearn for and being still within the turmoil as we try on all forms of transitioning from one phase of life to another.

  3. How can I bring my word into my work life? 

    This will be a challenge as office days have been tough with altered staffing dynamics.  A mercy heart can become enmeshed in the pain of others and from there it is a short spiral to taking on the burdens of others too intensely.  Mindful that ELEVATE also means to promote and develop over the next weeks I can support with empathy, help others to identifying coping strategies that have worked in the past and encourage self-efficacy.

  4. What is ELEVATE teaching me about myself? 

    It is easier to care for others before I consider myself.  Being raised in the self-deprecating 1960s still affects my ability to put my needs before others.  When I run on empty I cannot give others what they need with love, gentleness and kindness. It is difficult to ELEVATE others when my own emotional reserves are depleted.  I am learning that replenishing my emotional tanks is not an optional add-on, it is an imperative and I need to take notice.

***

This has been a difficult post.  To sit in the discomfort and realise this is not where I imagined I’d be a quarter of the way through the year.  Maybe it’s because the word has an outward rather than an inward focus.  I have noticed that I’ve moved into people pleasing mode and I find that draining and diminishing.  It also has me giving away from myself during times when I need to be drawing from others.

***

This month I am participating in the A-Z Challenge to write posts related to each letter of the alphabet during April.  My theme is values – both lived and the things that add value to my journey.  You can find out more about the challenge here.

 

8 thoughts on “Elevate – A Check In

  1. Elevate is a great word for the year. It can be so hard to focus on it – it’s really changing a habit, well, adding a new one, and that can be incredibly difficult. Perhaps instead of marking it as 90 days of failure, think of your year as going from April to April? 🙂

    My “theme” – A Thirty-Word Story, revealing one word of the story each day of the challenge.
    #AtoZChallenge The Letter E

    Liked by 1 person

    • Great idea, hadn’t thought of the 90 days being a trial run. After the reflection it is time to set myself up for the remainder of the year. Thank you for the positive re-direction :)Linda

      Like

Your comments here

