Authenticity

a-to-z HEADER [2017] - april

Judy Garland immortalised the phrase:

“Be a first rate you, not a second rate version of someone else.”

How often do we find our identity in the work we do: Β I am a teacher, a librarian, a bank manager, a waitress. When we identify ourselves by how we earn a living, we diminish the innate qualities that make us unique.

We are authentic when our behaviours and words are in synch with our core beliefs and values. It was Nietzsche who said: If we own our why of life, we can put up with any how.” He reminds us that when we submit to a system we compromise our integrity: we become a cog in the larger machine of the system. As part of a system we are more likely to conform to the values of others. Of course, it may be that the system in which you work, live, and seek leisure has similar values to your own: you will know.

Self-awareness is the cornerstone of authenticity. When we are in touch with our emotions and behaviours we are likely to understand what triggers us. When we understand our imperfections, making decisions is easier. We need to be open and honest with our failings and fears. It is living with vulnerability and courage. Living this way we become aware of the values that drive us. We know the barriers that hold us back.

Three years ago I took an authentic look at my life, I wanted to know how I was tracking and what needed to change. Was I living with authenticity? Was my life real? And how was I reflecting humanity? An examined life is a genuine life that understands the shifting sands on which we exist.

Being a first rate you requires honesty, courage and big doses of self-awareness.

***

I am participating in the A-Z Challenge this month. Β You can find out more about the challenge here.

 

19 thoughts on “Authenticity

    • We did Niki. We found different things to write about as well as found common ground. I love this about writing. Every perspective adds another gem to enrich our lives. Thank you for the visit. πŸ™‚ Linda

      Liked by 2 people

      • I love reading other people’s perspectives. This actually reminds me of grade school when my teacher would write one word on the board and the whole class had to journal about it. That one word would be incorporated into a couple dozen different stories based on each of our experiences.

        Happy to find you πŸ™‚

        Liked by 2 people

  1. A wonderful post and one we should all look back to over time to see how well we live these values. It is easy to call ourselves authentic, but how many of us actually live the words?

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Very well explained the word Authenticity. It’s very common to see that people tell something but their mind goes for other things. From that point, I also agree with you that we should keep a sync between our beliefs and words.

    Liked by 4 people

    • Well “Shine” you have captured the essence of the post beautifully when you say ‘we should keep a synch between our beliefs and words’. It is not an easy task to be 100% focussed on one’s values in every decision and action during the day. Hence the need for regular reflection and re-alignment. Thanx for stopping by and commenting. Linda πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. What you wrote made me think about consciousness. I agree it’s important but I would feel that maybe just following one’s emotions without being fully aware of their core reasons might be sufficient too. Or maybe I just think so because I haven’t really worked out my basic “why’s” yet and I’m functioning on the level of “how” πŸ˜‰ I’ll mull on that a wee more!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Loved the post! The other day, I was thinking about how so many emotions are somehow second hand (I was listening to a song with some lyrics “love is a second-hand emotion…) We learn and internalize those feelings from culture etc… for example, the romantic love how we define and perceive came from the Shakespearian era. The core emotion is the same but standards are pretty much preconceived. Agree, every once in a while one must introspect on such things and set our own standards.
    Best Wishes!

    Liked by 2 people

    • That’s very interesting Karnika, I wonder how it was different before! But I agree, it takes a lot of guts to peel off layers of social and familiar expectations to find the core of us underneath.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thanx for the kind words. Anne Voskamp who wrote The Broken Way, describes love as a verb which is something we do. It is often described as an emotion although I wonder if love as a metaphor is more accurate. Linda πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Your comments here

