April 2017 A – Z Blogging Challenge

Recently I placed the 2017 A – Z Blogging Challenge badge on the sidebar.  The year of study is complete and I need to make the shift from academic to creative writing. Once upon a time participating in challenges was a way to hone my writing skills, find my writer’s voice and engage with other bloggers.  Now it provides mental stimulation as ideas pop up and kick start the creative process.  As a process person I value the steps along the way as the piece unfurls.  Don’t misunderstand me, I am still honing my writing skills, still wondering whether my voice comes through and love the interaction between fellow bloggers.  It is the perfect activity for an introvert.  All that interaction without actually having to go anywhere or talk to anyone.

This will be the third year I have participated in this month long challenge. Twenty-six blogging days, one for each letter of the alphabet: blogging each day of the week, Sundays off. The organisers put a lot of effort into making the time we spend together interesting as interactive as possible. They have changed things up this year with new guidelines for posting although the essence remains true to the first challenge in 2010.

With the help of a blog planner and editorial calendar the posts are starting to stack up as scheduled posts which will make it easier to keep ahead as I spend time visiting other participants’ contributions to the challenge. I haven’t decided whether the posts will follow a theme or whether my posts will have a random flavour (like my blog generally). Ideas are percolating and there is an excitement about making the shift from academic to creative writing. This time I’m adding a personal challenge to write shorter posts. I’m not sure how that will happen but the wisdom of less is more is difficult for me.

If you’re interested in participating check out the comprehensive and informative website and I would love company along the way. Let me know if you decide to blog along in April so we can encourage one another.

5 thoughts on “April 2017 A – Z Blogging Challenge

  1. Hello.
    I noticed you tried to leave a comment on the A to Z Challenge blog, but you deleted it.

    If you have questions, please feel free to email me.

    Otherwise, if you copy/paste the link from the above URL bar, and left it in the comments, that’s all we would need.

    Example:
    My blog: QP and EYE
    My blog post link: https://queasypeasy.wordpress.com/2017/03/01/april-2017-a-z-blogging-challenge/

    We hope you decide to participate.
    Heather
    Co-Host, 2017 Blogging from A to Z April Challenge
    hgardner28@gmail.com

    Like

  2. I missed doing the A-Z challenge last year after participating in the 2 (or was it 3) previous ones. Now, with lots of medical and other things happening over the last 4 months, I have found it hard to settle down to proper writing – though I did complete my 2nd book and submit it to Text Publishing writing comp.
    I have had two themes to work on, but I haven’t actually written any of the posts. Perhaps I should get down and just do it. I have a week right now where I am not supposed to do much physical work, so it would be a good time to do that. I will check out the changes to the submission procedure & let you know if I am able to join you on the trip. :-).

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am sorry to hear you’re having health issues Linda. Having a week where you need to have a rest from physical activity might be the elixir the muse needs to do some writing in short bloggable spurts. I would love to have you alongside for the journey.

      Liked by 1 person

Your comments here

