Word for 2017

I changed my Facebook header to remind me of the word I have chosen and to encourage me each time I logged into FB. Last year was the first time I had embarked on the journey of choosing a word to accompany me through the year.  My word for 2016 was STEADFAST and each time I saw the banner I designed in PicMonkey it was a motivator for how I wanted to do life.  After three years of WTF experiences something had to change: and you know what they say … nothing changes if nothing changes.

fb-header-resized

I can tell you that my word for 2015 – STEADFAST – has been a gem. It helped anchor me when I felt buffeted from pillar to post. It grounded me when the fog closed in.  STEADFAST.  Keep calm and hold your ground.

It was wildly empowering.

This year’s word is ELEVATE.

To raise, lift, boost, buoy up, heighten, uplift, advance, nurture, promote, erect, glorify, work on, enhance, upgrade, improve, work up, ascend, levitate (love that one, I can elevate myself above the small stuff). The list goes on: lift, develop, sanctify, increase, support, transform, encourage, construct, amplify, enrich, augment, maximise and lionise.

20160910_154247-r

So this year is about ELEVATION.   It is about rising above what I cannot change by transforming my attitudes and developing new perspectives that support a more tranquil lifestyle: work and home.  It will be about elevating myself above relationships that no longer serve my goals or support my values.  It will be about shedding and finding; and learning and thriving.  I purposely chose a word that would be internal to nurture the inner me as well as one I could project into my world: clients, friends and those within my circle of influence.

tECHNOLOGY GRAPHIC

There are plans to seek and find alternate training opportunities to enhance my therapeutic counselling toolkit.  New is exciting.  However, the year holds some uncertainty about my work situation and the decisions made around that aspect of my life need to support and enhance the quality of life the MOTH (Man of The House) and I enjoy.

There you have it. No New Year’s resolutions.  One word to carry me through 365 days of 2017. ELEVATE.  It will be stimulating year as I seek opportunities to ELEVATE others as well as dig deeper into a reflective life and unravel the myriad ways in which we are called to journey alongside one another.

10 thoughts on “Word for 2017

  1. What a fantastic idea, and a fantastic word. I could definitely use some of that elevating power in 2017. In fact, I think perhaps the whole world could right now? Would it be rude if I share your word? I think it would be very apt for where I am at present and would be a great inspiration for me in many circumstances I am already working with. Thank you for the inspiration 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you, much appreciated :). I completely agree. I have been at risk over the last couple of weeks of getting bogged down and drawn into other people’s dramas. I want to take a step away and elevate myself above those personal gripes – they have been preying on my mind, and making me feel a bit ill – a bit of elevation from the situation is exactly what is required. This and elevating my aspirations and the positive energy I commit to uplifting projects should serve me well in 2017. I look forward to following your elevation as the year progresses 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. You have a great idea there QP and Eye, Elevate!! your chosen word for 2017 will hopefully live up to it’s name. I have never been to Newcastle and I have driven past the turn off to Newcastle many times. If the photo of the table and chairs with a birds eye view of a wonderful country outlook is where you call home, then Elevate is appropriate. Wow!! What a lovely serene photo, I would really enjoy sitting at that table with a warm apple and cinnamon muffin with fresh whipped cream, as well as a nice cuppa just soaking up the serenity.
    I can hardly believe my own words when I say I have never been to Newcastle, next trip south we will go left instead of right onto the F3. I read your comment on Aunt Beulah’s latest story If Only, I noted you were from Newcastle and yes once I have shown her all the wonderful places in QLD I shall point her in your direction.
    From one Aussie to another Aussie glad to know ya, know where to find you, and I promise to visit your site more often.
    Hugs from
    Annie in Australia 🌞 🌴 🌊

    Like

  3. I do so love the idea of choosing a word to inspire and guide us rather than making resolutions. I like both your 2016 and 2017 words. They can be applied in a variety of ways to fit what you need. I’ll be interested in hearing how elevate works out for you this year.

    Like

Your comments here

