Share Your World: Week 3

So this is Week 3 of Cee’s blog challenge called Share Your Week and here are my responses to her questions (in bold).

What is your favorite piece of art? (it doesn’t have to be famous)

Choosing one piece of art is difficult because of the different mediums in which artists create.  Each time I return home to New Zealand I find one piece to hang on our (blue) New Zealand wall.  The pieces need to reflect the area I call ‘home’ and that is the province of Taranaki that has a 2, 518m volcanic cone as its focal point.  In earlier times this mountain was called Mt Egmont but is now referred to as Mt Taranaki, the Maori name.

IMG_5517

What made you smile today?  Lots of smiles today:  Skyping with my daughter and grandson who had his first haircut at a real barber rather than at home; coffee with a girlfriend whom I had not seen since October last year, we take up where we left off so coffee times with her are always something to look forward to; The MOTH (Man Of The House) and I watched two episodes of Our Zoo, a British drama about the family who set up the Chelsea Zoo in England during the 1930s.

Which place do you recommend as a Must-See? Please state which country, state or providence.   New Zealand.  Not only because it’s my home country and a place that is welcoming and kind to visitors but because it would fit into one American state (not sure which one but there must be one just the right size) you could get around the entire country in a leisurely two month jaunt.  It’s a place of stunning contrast and beauty and rich in both Maori and European culture, architecture, art and multicultural in its cuisine and cafe culture.

Complete this sentence: When I was younger I did not understand how old people could be happy when their bodies failed them and they forgot so much.  I remember telling a friend I worked with – we were in our late teens –  I couldn’t imagine being 30.  I’d like to meet up with her now we’re in our 60s.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?  Everything returning to business-as-usual last week and only three days of work this week as Australia Day (Invasion Day) falls on Tuesday this year and I work a four-day week.

2 thoughts on “Share Your World: Week 3

Your comments here

