Simple Woman’s Day Book

simple-woman-daybook-large.jpgToday I am linking up with The Simple Woman’s Day Book which invites women to respond to the same prompters each week.

 For Today… Monday 20th July 2015
Outside my window I hear traffic but it is distant.  Well established rain forest stretches from here to the sea and the view across that canopy is peppered with large palm trees.   Yesterday’s cold winds are now gusts but pleasant and the bird calls which were different this morning have ceased.   
I am thinking it would be good to move somewhere else just for the freshness of the experience.  A  new job would be in the mix and that is an exciting thought.  Also thinking that I need a hair cut especially as the MOTH (Man of The House) thinks like I just got off my motorbike.
 
I am thankful that we are able to get away as frequently as we do and that there are so many beautiful places in this country still to explore and enjoy.  I am liking my hair drying in the wind and how it feels being tossed about my head.
I am wearing a zip-up track suit top with the sleeves rolled up to the wrists, a pair of hiking trousers (the ones with the zip on/zip off half legs, a shirt and a pair of summer sandals.
I am creating a peaceful and nurturing personal space in which to unwind and recharge the emotional and creative tanks.
I am going to explore the local markets.  Community culture, the light vibe and explosion of colourful arts and crafts is invigorating and sometimes inspiring.  Photo opportunities too.
I am wondering how Rarasaur is doing.  Rara was (and we hope will continue) an avid and inspirational blogger.  The short version is that she has just been released from prison but while she was serving time her husband (and fellow blogger and author) contracted an infection and died.  This week Rara is free and I am hoping the blogging community who supported her through prison time will be there to embrace her and help get her back on her feet.
I am reading a lot of new blogs.
I am learning that being still and quiet can create its own mental busyness; when all else stops, my mind stretches into the open spaces.
In my garden which is a long way from where I am now the MOTH has planted out more hydroponic seedlings and we are starting to reap the benefits of fresh organic greens.  In ‘my’ garden where we are this week all is forest green.  I am noticing the different plants and trees and finding many similar species to our home patch.  The frangipani trees are bare-stalked as they are at home but the fernery about here is magnificent and lush.
 In my the MOTH’s kitchen this week we are noticing and relearning how blessed we are when at home.  The self contained unit we have for this week is less than self-contained with means the MOTH is having to create his wondrous culinary delights with limited utensils, and bench space.  He’s a problem solver so we’re eating well.
A favourite quote for today
 “It doesn’t happen all at once,” said the Skin Horse.  “You become.  It takes a long time.  That’s why it doesn’t happen often to people who break easily, or have sharp edges, or who have to be carefully kept.  Generally, by the time you are Real, most of your hair has been loved off, and your eyes drop out and you get loose in the joints and very shabby.  But these things don’t matter at all, because once you are Real you can’t be ugly, except to people who don’t understand.”  (The Velveteen Rabbit)
One of my favourite things is travelling to new places.  This week we are in Coffs Harbour some hours north of home so there will be plenty of photo opportunities, new and exciting things to do and experience.  There will also be lots about which to journal.
4 thoughts on “Simple Woman’s Day Book

  1. Good luck with your new endeavors and plans. I was surprised about the info you provided about Rarasaur. She was very active with Yeah Write before, although I didn’t read her blog. I did, just now. She writes well. I hope she’s ok.

    Liked by 1 person

Your comments here

