Honorific

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Honorific.”

It strikes me that most commemoration days happen posthumously which makes it okay for me to nominate one of my class teachers, Mrs Collins. 

Few teachers stand out in the twelve years I spent bound to desk and chair.  I was one of the lucky few and met one of the most beautiful creatures in my early years of primary school.  What a godsend.  Her looks weren’t important (I forgot them) but I have never forgotten how she treated everyone in the class (which was large) equally, she was fair, kind and patient.  She also smiled a lot and understood the importance of rewards (10 coloured stars = 1 gold star).  I’ll call her Mrs Collins.  She was our class teacher and taught every subject from nature study to languages (English and Afrikaans), reading, writing, arithmetic, history, singing, T-ball, even athletics.  I think they still do that in primary schools today.

She was the class cheer leader and hers was the loudest voice at any sporting or scholastic event where one of her ‘children’ were having a go.   Long after the event Mrs Collins would be basking in the glory of our efforts and telling us how proud we had made her.  Her gift of finding something loveable and positive in every child in every circumstance was rare.  I came to appreciate all we had in Mrs Collins too late to tell her how much she meant to me and how much she “gave” to me.

There are too many posts submitted for today’s prompt to be able to visit them all but I was touched by The LoneRose’s response and I hope some of you visit the post.  As mentioned in my comment on that site, I do not know what it would be like to be a family member’s full time carer.  What I do know is that it is a thankless task and often falls to one person in the family to carry the burden.

Your comments here

