Share Your World – 2015 Week 12

IMG_1921-0Linda Stewart

When was the last time you sat on a park or garden bench for more than ten minutes? Describe the occasion.

Parks and their benches make great outdoor meeting places for clients we are not able to visit in their homes.  Approximately twenty percent of our client group’s homes are assessed as high risk areas for workers to attend and we need to find alternate safe meeting places.  Parks are always their first choice as many have young children who do not get out and about much due to lack of transport.  For this client group we arrange to pick them and the children up from home and transport them to and from the meeting.  Macca is a rainy day option but so noisy it is difficult to hear anyone speak and we won’t go into the confidentiality and privacy issues it raises.  The rainy day option reduces the level of intensity and rather than providing any kind of therapeutic intervention it becomes a time of building relationship with family.  For an outreach worker knowing the best outdoor places to meet is almost part of the job description.  I am also something of an expert on park toilet facilities and which parks to avoid for obvious reasons.  Yes park benches and I are well acquainted and I am fortunate to work across four local government areas who service their parks well.

Would you ever be interested in observing a surgery or do you turn away when the nurse brings out the needle?

I do great surgery from my armchair and enjoy the Outback ER series currently on television.  Love the forensic TV series and my stomach does not turn when watching the most gruesome of procedures.  Yes, I turn my head when the nurse gets the needle out to jab my arm and I do not think I would be much good at observing surgery outside of my comfy chair.

Where’s your favorite place to take out-of-town guests?

We are beach people and love the coastline of Australia’s eastern seaboard so we would include a visit up to Newcastle along the coastal road.

Newcastle Beach

Newcastle Beach © Linda Stewart (QP)

If you had an unlimited shopping spree at only one store, which one would you choose? Why?

Torn here … between the Apple Store and one of the many eclectic stationery shops.  Unlimited?  The Apple Store would win out because of the sheer expense of their gizmos (which I love).  The speed at which technology improves is mind boggling which means that my devices are nearing their use by date.  Therefore I would upgrade my desktop, laptop and iPad and then purchase one of the latest iPhones.  Materialistic Girl, I know beauty did say unlimited shopping spree.  I could have said I would give it all to charity and that would show how deep and spiritual I am.  Never mind.  Next question.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

Grateful that we had a beautiful sunny four-day weekend away in our camper trailer at the beach.  We got to spend time reading, swimming and lazing in bed until 10am.  Is it awful to say that I am looking forward to the end of the coming week because it means I will have survived another staff meeting and round of case reviews.

Share Your World – 2015 Week #12 | Cee’s Photography.

Your comments here

