Share Your World – Week 10, 2015

When you lose electricity in a storm, do you light candles, or turn on the flashlight?  How many do you own of each?

As campers we have about ten to fifteen flashlights, including camping lamps that are always charged.  Initially we would go for the flashlights but maybe once we’d settled into the powerlessness of our situation I would light every candle in the lounge area.  I cannot guess the number of candles around our home; they range from tea lights, church and fragranced candles and at least a half dozen practical when-the-lights-go-out kind.  

You are given $5, 000 and the chance to exchange it for one of two envelopes.   One contains $50, 000 and th other $500.  Do you make the trade?

Not a gambler.  I would take the $5, 000 and not be tempted to pick an envelope “just for the fun of it”.  

What is your first memory?

My mother is carrying me against her chest as we stand infront of a large wooden door waiting for someone to let us in.  When we are inside I feel my mother’s heart beat increase.

What do you do if you can’t sleep at night?  Do you toss and turn, or get up and do something?

When my hips are playing up I tend to toss and turn because I know once I find the right position in which to sleep my body will rest.  On the other hand if my mind will not settle, I will get up and have a hot drink and do something.  What I do depends on whether there is unfinished business around the house which I complete and then return to bed to sleep.  However, if I’ve completed another chapter of my memoir while waiting to sleep I am likely to get up, at which point the excellent head prose vanish and I stare at the blank page until my cuppa tea is finished and then I return to bed.

Bonus question:  what are you grateful for from last week and what are you looking forward to in the coming week?

We spent four nights with our daughter and her family in New Zealand and enjoyed catching up and being a part of our grandson’s weekly activities.  Coming up this week, not sure.  I return to work on Tuesday so maybe having Monday to catch up with the laundry after our travels and get back into my writing.  

Your comments here

