Share Your World – Week 2, 2015

sywbannerBy Linda Stewart

Are you a hugger or a non-hugger?

There has been a bit of a bell curve happening with my hugging.  As a child I was reticent to engage with people I did not know well and even less have any kind of physical contact with them.  I warmed to physical contact in early adult years and became a hugger.  It seemed the more comfortable I became in my skin the more open I was to receiving and returning hugs.  However, after a horrible year last year as far as work relationships were concerned, I have pulled back again.  Hugs now are reserved for those I know well.  If I know them well but do not trust them they will receive no hugs from me.  This makes for embarrassing moments and I think particularly of everyone leaving the office to take Christmas/New Year leave.  Those who had wielded knives all year cornered me for a hug.  I am not pleased that I recoiled but the mere thought of having them in my personal space was too much.

I find it strange that a hug can be interpreted as a signal that all is forgiven, including despicable behaviour.  Sorry to rant but this does hit a raw nerve (did you notice).

What’s your favourite ice-cream flavour?

Just when you think you have heard it all, a new ice cream flavour comes onto the market.   Bird flavoured ice creams.  Currently, in Japan, the flavours offer include parakeet, cockatiel and sparrow.  While I cannot imagine actually eating any of these gorgeous creatures the ingredients the ice creams are ‘flavoured’ with would encourage me to try one or all of them.  Mind you, I am not convinced I could enjoy the textures the proprietors of the Bird Cafe have come up with, to give one the sense of actually eating a bird.  Why would you?  As yet this range of flavours are not available in Australia but when the marketing plan is rolled out I may well be prompted to have a taste.   Until then peppermint continue as a personal favourite, closely followed by macadamia, goody gumdrops, hokey pokey, chocolate fudge.  Who am I kidding.  Ice cream is ice cream, what’s not to adore?   Unless maybe, it is bird flavoured.

Go on, you know you want to.  Imagine popping this beautiful specimen into your mouth and how it would feel as you bit down on it ...

Go on, you know you want to. Imagine popping this beautiful specimen into your mouth and how it would feel as you bit down on it …

Do you prefer exercising your mind or your body? How frequently do you do either?

Hard to answer this, I prefer mind gym to physical activity.  That said last night I was tapping out a draft post as the clocked ticked passed six o’clock and I said to the MOTH:  I am disappointed I am still sitting here and I haven’t reached my 10, 000 steps.  I will be annoyed with myself if I don’t go now.  However, I sat a while longer having the head debate and I got out and completed the balance of my daily step goal.  As for frequency, Mental stimulation happens all the time while physical exercise happens when I shame myself into sticking to a goal …

Are you more of a dog person or a cat person? Why?

I would be a dog person although I have never owned a dog.  I have owned cats previously and loved them.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

Last weekend it rained on Sunday and I started an editorial calendar for 2015 and plan regular memoir posts for the remainder of this year.  It sounds silly to say that the rain allowed me to spend time indoors but if the weather is fine I feel obliged to be pottering about in the garden.  This week I am hoping to complete some long outstanding projects so I can move on.

You can see other bloggers’ responses to Week 2’s questions here.

2 thoughts on “Share Your World – Week 2, 2015

Your comments here

