Share Your World – Week 1 2015

sywbannerBy Linda Stewart

How do you get rid of pesky phone calls from telemarketers?

Oh dear, Cee … you have found me out.  As an introvert I tend to let the phone rings go unanswered.  The only times I answer the phone are when I am expecting a call, usually from a friend.  Of course occasionally the expected call and telemarketer are in synch and I get to speak to someone I do not know about a product I have no interest in.  If it is a charity, I will listen to which cause they are promoting and make a decision based on what kind of mood I am in (don’t judge me).  Otherwise I tell them I am not interested.  The best come back ever was:  I can’t believe you are not interested in saving money. Which I thought was quite good.

What are you a “natural” at doing?

There are few things more satisfying than a good conversation, unless it is a good book.  Back in the day I was frequently reminded not to interrupt because it was rude.  Small nuances in the art of communication seem to have been lost today where most people see conversation as an opportunity for one-upmanship.  It can seem like one is engaged in combat and rising above the competition can be taken as lack of interest in the topic.  Waiting for our turn to speak taught us to listen to what other people were saying and to respond to their contribution rather than interrupting with our own brilliance.

Perhaps because of my temperament and natural tendency to guard my heart and/or ‘being in my head so much’, listening is a skill that comes naturally.  Today there are so many people with something to say I wonder who is listening.

How often do you get a haircut?

When I pass the mirror and wonder when the shaggy dog moved in it is time for a haircut.  When I catch myself flicking my fringe (bangs) out of my face it is well past that time.  By the time I am totally over my bad hair it is a rush to get in somewhere to get it restyled and restore order.  Fortunately my hair does not require primping so Just Cuts does a good job regardless of who the cutter happens to be on any particular day.

What’s the first thing that comes to mind when you hear the word “fun”?

Coffee and conversation with a girlfriend.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

We had a wonderful break away in our camper trailer for four days and it was heaven.  Looking forward to next week is another four day weekend and in the run in to that break are a bevvy of new clients with whom to engage.  I am always excited to meet new clients who bring so much with them.  I love that we can always learn from others when we are open to hear their story with respect and humility

Cee poses four questions each with, plus two bonus questions for participants in the Share Your World journey.

One thought on “Share Your World – Week 1 2015

Your comments here

