Over My Shoulder: Life After Facebook

After so many months of no Facebook I am getting used to the looks of amazement when people discover that one can remain connected socially without the help of on-line networking.  Maybe it is because I am a lot older than most of those with their expressions aghast at how one could survive without participating in some form of social media.

The times spent on Facebook are now used in a number of more productive endeavours.  In the last year I’ve made three quilts which I enjoyed putting together, choosing the fabrics, patterns and sitting at the sewing machine and overlocker piecing the fabric together in a new way;  a year of blog posts:  answering challenge prompts some months to exploring one topic for an entire month.  The research involved in the last activity was huge as was the satisfaction with the end result.

In the grocery store queue rather than checking the status of others on Facebook, I am now inclined to strike up a conversation with the person either side of me.  Instead of thinking up a catchy new status – for which I am hoping a gazillion *likes* – I am more inclined to write a letter (with pen and paper) or phone someone for a chat and really find out how they are travelling.

It was a good decision.  Not because Facebook was becoming an obsessive time-waster, (actually, yes it was)  or that the privacy issues or how to fix them were quite beyond me (which they were), or that the advertisements were irritating.  Rather because of the time spent in seemingly banal pursuits, clicking the ‘like’ button, or rolling on the floor laughing (ROFL), or laughing my arse off (LMAO).  Just saying, there have one or two instances in my life that have been so excruciatingly funny that I ended up on the floor.  Sadly, Facebook engenders a lot of facile hyperbole for what, quite frankly is mediocre at best or not funny at all, at worst.

So looking over my shoulder and tongue in cheek – I am ROLF-ing and LMAO-ing at new pursuits and the spin offs from those.

 

5 thoughts on “Over My Shoulder: Life After Facebook

  1. Unfortunately I am an addict as we both away from both of our families so we love catching up on photos of everyone on Facebook. I do find some posts irritating and also the overuse of hyperboles. Totally agree! But not quite willing to give up mine yet 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I need to do the same as you re Facebook, Linda. It sure can be addictive and time consuming, and I don’t need that.
    I don’t need to know how many other people are angry, horrified, despairing etc over the latest government idiocies. I don’t need to look at trite posts and mediocre comment and gross expletives, or be irritated by suggested posts to follow.
    I can still share news stories on FB without actually connecting to it, and if I want to post something for my friends & family I can do so without having to check out the last few days’ posts from all and sundry.
    I can, can’t I!!!
    As a matter of fact, from now on, that is what I will limit myself to! I WILL!
    Thank you for your inspiring example, my friend. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Of course you can, Linda! What became invasive for me, despite having turned off notifications, were the reminders that FB insisted I get and the appalling advertisements that appeared on my page’s side bars which all my visitors saw too. Too much for this old dame, I’m afraid.

      Liked by 1 person

Your comments here

