#Reverb 14: Signs and Symbols

Sometimes I feel like an intrepid explorer through the lush, terrifying, vibrant jungle that is daily life. When I am open, I start to notice clues everywhere; clues which guide me to questions that, in turn, lead to answers. I sense the very real possibility that I am not navigating my way on my own

Recently I realised that I had been gravitating to hot pink. This realisation led me to a photo which, in turn, brought back some memories which then led me to understand something about a burden I’d been carrying for a long time. And in that discovery, I was freed.


Today, I invite you to consider: what sorts of signs and symbols have recurred for you in 2014? Think: repeating colours, shapes, people, sayings, music, images, ideas. Where could they possibly be leading you?

***

Here we are, three posts to go of the # Reverb 14 journey led by the intrepid, prompt-baffling and brightly spirited Kat McNally.  In the introduction to this post Kat ponders the realisation that we do not navigate our journey in isolation.  We are born into family, raised in community and we travel in the company of others.  It follows that these others are co-navigators of our lives.  Sometimes they are parents, other times friends or relatives but generally they are people whom we have not met yet we we find ourselves at the cross-road, seeking the way.  Maybe we are alone and maybe we have company.  But we are staring at the sign posts wondering which direction to follow.

What signs and signals have I followed this year?  Beyond the usual indicators of stress, anxiety or sleeplessness I cannot think of a sign that repeated itself.  Those indicators were my cue that all was not right in my world.  The feelings of discomfort or uneasiness at someone’s response were other signals I heeded.  As for the signs, I am unsure of those either.  Perhaps a series of signals become a sign – that something needs to change.  In that context then, stress and anxiety were definitely part of the repertoire, signalling things were more challenging than the emotional reserves available to manage the challenge.

There was a point in the year when so many signals were repeated they became the norm.  I was aware that things needed to change.  The sign that read burn out, depression and loss of confidence definitely got my attention.

The interesting thing about this year’s experience is that it happened during the same months as other major events of my life over the past five years.  If history reflects that not so good things happen during August and September each year, how does one not become anxious and stressed in the lead up to those months.

To an extent I believe we create the environment in which elements of our lives unfold.  To believe this and then find oneself in quick sand is disconcerting.  However, as for as the events of these past few years,  I have recognised is that the physical environment is the same, as are the people.  As for the periodicity of such uncomfortable experiences, how does one control that?

Rather than turn myself into a pretzel trying to figure it out, I am going to take up Kat’s notion that these events have been leading me somewhere, and I do believe I now know where that somewhere is.  I’ve written about it within the safety of #Reverb 14 and I have already begun to process and work on new approaches to certain people and situations.

In reflection this year’s dramas have taught me there are signs and signals everywhere. I am going to try and be more aware of the following and pull myself up when I feel myself lapsing into old patterns.  Here are some of the signs and signals I’ve noticed.

  • Other people’s opinions are not more valuable than my own
  • Working and being on my own is perfectly okay.  I am an introvert and can say no (nicely) to being roped into working in ways that sit uncomfortably with me
  • Being silent is a wonderful way to guard your heart and find the calm
  • A few quiet friends are more valuable than many acquaintances with whom I share no depth
  • When I become stressed or anxious … create, create and then create some more
  • When I am tired, I will go to bed …

So maybe I do read signs and take notice of the signals.  It takes me a while to process new ideas and this post has helped set a number of things in order.  Of the many attributes of participating in a blogging event is that one never knows where the prompts will take you.  After all, yesterday I was prancing about in unicorn splendour, and today’s post brings me into a contemplative space thinking of the year ahead.

4 thoughts on “#Reverb 14: Signs and Symbols

  1. I find it interesting where a response to a prompt will lead. With these very personal ones on Reverb, I found myself scared off from doing any of them. I think it is mainly because I find them emotionally challenging, and I am afraid to explore where they might lead me; I also have not had the emotional or physical energy to go along those paths right now.
    And besides, you have answered most of them for me in your own responses, and have done so with more insight than I would have brought to them. Thank you for that. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love the first one. Other people’s opinion are not more valuable than my own. It’s a sign we should always do what we feel is right rather than do what pleases others. But it also reminds me that I can actually be right sometimes and stand my ground!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. “Being silent is a wonderful way to guard your heart and find the calm” – how I love this concept Queasy Peasy! And I have found that it really does work in the face of those loud mouths you mentioned in your ‘biting back’ post! 😉
    Here’s to you listening to the signs and signals, even if they are not always pleasant ones =\

    Like

Your comments here

