#Reverb 14: Roots and Anchor

The idea of rooting down into your own personal beliefs and center of truth is an ongoing process, and many things can serve as anchors or roots as you move through life.

What rooted or anchored you in 2014?

Those who have journeyed alongside me this year will know it has been a bumpy ride.  F
Despite my best efforts there were times when I was less than my best self and in my defence I confess to being an emotional-wear-your-heart-on-your-sleeve kind of person.  Trust me this is not my preference.

Honestly?  rather than being anchored or having a firm footing on life this year again I confess to being in my emotions more often than I like.  Survival mode.  It is where I spent most of the past twelve months.  There were so many elements of my life that were uprooted.  Some over which I had no control; others  were consequent to my own endeavours.  To all of these I responded emotionally rather than rationally.  In my haste to become an adult, my mother used to tell me not to wish away my life.  However, I think she would be in agreement with my wish to see this year draw to an end.

We are often reminded that our strengths are sometimes the basis of our weaknesses.  How true.  The things I value about my introvert tendencies are the same as those that often let me down.  Allowing the louder voice to hold sway in important discussions; letting others take advantage in so many ways; believing less of myself than others.  When my energy reserves lagged so too did my courage.

And where do you want to put down roots in 2015?

Don’t you love (however uncomfortable that loving may be) how reflection at the bottom of the ladder is the most soul-searching and so often the most honest.  That lonely, scary place we find ourselves when our own fabulousness has reached its limits and here we are facing our short comings.

I am grateful to whatever forces brought me to this place.  2015 is a fresh opportunity to do life differently.

One of the anchors will be mindfulness in thought and in the contexts in which I seek nurturing:  to be  nurtured and to  nurture.  I will be listening to compassionate feedback and permitting criticism and projection from others to flow gently away from my heart.

It is exciting to know that living with integrity and with authenticity means reclaiming myself and my values and beliefs and behaving with integrity in all I do and say which includes how I treat and speak about myself as well as others.

 

6 thoughts on “#Reverb 14: Roots and Anchor

Your comments here

