#Reverb 14: Biting Back

Despite our usually sunny dispositions and dedication to the practice of “assuming positive intent,” we all occasionally find ourselves having to deal with an incredibly unpleasant individual.  While I’m sure you always handle it with the tact and finesse for which you’ve become so well known, I’m going to ask you to step outside yourself for just a moment.
Think back to such a situation: if the gloves were off, how would you really have liked to have dealt with them?

This is such a good prompt for today.  It has been hours of frustration followed by some more frustration which has left me feeling more than a tad out of sorts and feeling like a tortured pretzel.  Not good.  So when I read today’s prompt it was ripe for the pickings, I felt better immediately.  An opportunity to let it all hang out and it’s legit to boot.

  1. To the people who throw their McDonald’s wrappers and Happy Meal boxes anywhere but in the rubbish bins provided on every street corner:  Here’s a novel idea!  Why don’t you take them home and put them in your rubbish bin instead of chucking them out the car window and expecting someone else to pick it up.  Oh sorry, I forgot you’re clueless and see no reason to behave responsibly.  Don’t worry, asshole, someone else will pick up after you.  We always do.
  2. To the loud-mouthed extroverts at the office.  Shut the **** up for once in your life and listen.  You’ve got two ears and one mouth for a reason.  And no, your big mouth and limited cognitive capacities aren’t superior to those of us who are introverts.  We are not stupid, slow and/or have no opinion just because we choose to think before we comment or provide feedback.  If you shut up for ten seconds you may actually hear something more elevated than the crap that escapes your motor mouth.
  3. The next time you patronise me I will flatten you.  In fact I think I’ll go right ahead and do that anyway because I know ‘next time’ is never far away.
  4. The next time you cut me off in your urban assault vehicle (4 wheel drive) I may just be crazy enough to follow you home and slash your tyres.  You do not pay more road taxes than I do – although I can’t think why you don’t – probably only because the state government hasn’t figured that out yet.
  5. The dishes in the work sink:  I resent being the one capable of rinsing your dishes and placing them in the dishwasher.  I am not your mother, although it would be nice to give you all a good spanking followed by a lesson in dish rinsing and plate stacking.  C’mob people, how hard can it be to clean up after yourselves.  While I’m at it, that peanut butter knife, those toast crumbs and loaf of bread will neither clean themselves nor walk to the dustbin or fridge.  They don’t have legs.  You do; use them.  Incidentally, (how is it possible to have crumbs from one end of the kitchen to the other having just make two pieces of toast.

Ah me, how good it feels.  As a person who is continually engaged in emotional self-regulation and self-reflection I find it difficult to voice my concerns and opinions.  It is not because I’m timid but rather that I take a while to process events.  By the time I’ve unpacked every nuance of the event the moment has well and truly passed and there seems little point in raking it up again just to have my say.  Of course the benefit of being analytical is by the time I’ve decided the best course of action, there are few emotions with which to embarrass myself; just the facts as I see them.

5 thoughts on “#Reverb 14: Biting Back

  1. LOL!!! The humor in your ‘biting back’ is PALPABLE but then you have brilliantly expressed the thoughts in my head at such people and instances on the road or in the workplace. I may have to commit #2 to memory to deal with a ‘family’ gasbag during the holiday season for the next time this gasbag starts sounding off YET AGAIN, for, as you say, ‘next time is never far away’!! 😉
    And if your state figures out how to lay higher taxes on those SUV (aka Selfish User Vehicles, in my home!) drivers, PLEASE let me know so I can start the process to get it on the bill in my state!
    Well done and thanks for sharing today!!

    Liked by 1 person

Your comments here

