#Reverb14: Release

http://www.katmcnally.com/p/ways-to-play-reverb.htmlWhat unfinished projects from 2014 am you willing to release now? (Regret not required.)

Seriously, all my projects are unfinished.  I’d like to release every last one of them but that would be too easy … and irresponsible.  Some will have to be completed while others simply need to be released on the understanding that they were never going to reach completion.

Today I am releasing a personal expectation that 2014 will be scrapbooked, complete with journal notes, by the end of 2014.  This is one of those projects that was never going to reach completion because I pick it up and put it down regularly.  Now I am so far behind I no longer want to open the album which is a shame (oops no regret required) because what has been completed isn’t too shabby.

Christmas card making is another project that started out with a hiss and a roar and has waned.  It’s difficult to let go of traditions I have started; like hand made Christmas cards for everyone with whom I have done life during the year.  This is definitely something I can let go with a sense of relief.  Two hand made quilts are other projects that need finishing (someday) so I am releasing my hope that they will be complete for Christmas posting overseas.

Less tangibly there are a number of things which I’d like to release and leave in this year rather than be encumbered by them next year too.  One of the biggies is my urge to meet everyone’s expectations which ties me frequently into a pretzel.  It will be an on-going releasing as no doubt I will pick it up and lay it down many times before it really has been released.  However, long it takes, I would like to start that releasing today.

 

8 thoughts on “#Reverb14: Release

  1. This is the hardest thing for me: releasing others’ expectations. Every minute and everyday, I have to try and live up to patients’, nurses’, colleagues’ administrators’, friends’ and family’s expectations. It’s a lot of weight to walk around with….

    Like

    • I can’t imagine the burden of that degree of external expectation. I think there’s a post there Dr. Tiffany – expectations and duty of care (professional obligation); patient autonomy – clinician’s expertise. Ethical dilemmas. Yep, we all expect our professionals to be the perfect package: expertise, brilliant bedside manner, compassionate, explain the procedure in words of two syllables and of course spend more time with us than any other patient on their case load.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh dear, expectations – yes. Just release release release!
    I totally get the wanting to release the other projects. The ones that seem like such a good idea until they become such an energy drain that approaching them seems so daunting.
    Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Expectations – yes, I understand that, and am getting better at letting others’ expectations of me go.
    One thing I am releasing is that position I told you about; I have let a couple of others know already and will announce to the rest in about 10 days time.
    A very apt quotation. Keep working on it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Your comments here

