November with Gratitude: Kindness

Kindness is the human connection of one heart to another, and the universal language of compassion and empathy.   I have this idea that it should be something that comes naturally to all of us along with caring and watching our words and actions.  However, I have to say it is something I struggle with and I am not proud of that fact.

Most of the time I am kind without thought.  Like I said it’s part of the human condition, to want to reach out to others and alleviate suffering, yet there are times when my feelings towards someone or a situation make it so difficult to be kind.  No one is perfect but I would like to be less judgemental when someone gets me so wound up my fingers itch and my hands clench.  In those times I have to walk away, which is good for us all.  Judgement and preconceptions erode any potential for kindness.  I wish it could be different but for me it is a struggle.

On a good day when – and judgement has preceded the meeting – all the stars of the universe are aligned and synchronicity abounds just maybe I can overcome my humanness to stay long enough to see past the human frailty of others.  On all the other days I have to acknowledge that I am a work in progress.  On those days I have to acknowledge the same for others.

I am grateful for the kindness others have shown to me and my family over the years.  Their acts of kindness are always remembered with gratitude.

Found written on the wall in Mother Teresa’s home for children in Calcutta:

              People are often unreasonable, irrational, and self-centered.  Forgive them anyway.

            If you are kind, people may accuse you of selfish, ulterior motives.  Be kind anyway.

            If you are successful, you will win some unfaithful friends and some genuine enemies.  Succeed anyway.

           If you are honest and sincere people may deceive you.  Be honest and sincere anyway.

            What you spend years creating, others could destroy overnight.  Create anyway.

            If you find serenity and happiness, some may be jealous.  Be happy anyway.

            The good you do today, will often be forgotten.  Do good anyway.

         Give the best you have, and it will never be enough.  Give your best anyway.

         In the final analysis, it is between you and God.  It was never between you and them anyway.

Credited to Mother Teresa

2 thoughts on “November with Gratitude: Kindness

    • That’s it in a nutshell. We’re programmed for fight and flight and another’s behaviours that put us in flight mode distract us from the gentler nuances of human interaction when our system is on danger alert.

      Liked by 1 person

Your comments here

