November with Gratitude: Stillness

There are enough distractions to keep our minds occupied on any topic for however long we have.  The constant ring of telephones in the office forms a good part of every work day, and in the 21st century we’re ‘on call’ no matter where we are or who we are with.  We’ve been conditioned to expect calls and further obliged to pay attention to the ring tones that demand attention.

As we move further into the second decade of the 21st century finding stillness is becoming increasingly difficult as our obligations to engage and remain connected escalate.  We’ve become more demanding of ourselves and others, and with that mindset comes the expectation that we are available twenty-four hours a day, seven days a week.

There comes a point where we have to opt out for sanity’s sake.  I am fortunates that I do not have to be on red alert for work, family or friends.  Perhaps being an introvert has ‘saved’ me from that pitfall.  However, I do have a mind that is in Formula One, Grand Prix mode most waking hours.  For sanity’s sake,  I need a break.  Time to sit track-side and find peace.

I’ve always enjoyed my own company yet being still is difficult.  To not be problem solving, planning or analysing elements of my work or home life or personal interactions is a challenge.  What works best for me is when I am able to simply do nothing: mentally or physically.  It’s one step removed from mindfulness and allows the thoughts to come and go but not to stay.

Stillness is not something I achieve very often although I am getting better at scheduling time to be still.  What I have noticed is the interactions or activities following a time of stillness have generally been more productive, with more positive outcomes.

The time of quietening my mind helps me to find centre again and bring the focus back to the values to which I subscribe.  It brings me back to me.  No judgement.  No guilt.  No shame.  Stillness gives me these …

One thought on “November with Gratitude: Stillness

  1. Stillness. So difficult to find.
    I am finding that as I get older, I need more quiet time, otherwise I can’t cope with the despair that envelops me when I look at where the world is heading, My scrapbooking provides both quiet activity and contemplation, and I find it a very soothing escape.
    Hubby always has to be doing, just as I used to be. Even when he has been unwell, he has to keep going. I try to encourage him to relax and enjoy some peace, but he finds it too hard; there have been too many years when he wasn’t allowed to relax.

    Liked by 1 person

Your comments here

