Share Your World – 2014 Week 44

sywbanner

Thank you to Cee who hosts the Share Your World weekly challenge.  Each week she poses four questions and participants play along by posting their responses.

What is your most vivid memory of the kitchen in your childhood?

Unfortunately not a very good one.  I had returned home from boarding school for the holidays clutching a recipe for caramel.  Simple recipe.  Boil a can of condensed milk in a pot of water for however long, allow to cool, open and enjoy.  Sadly the can exploded and caramelised stalactites dripped from the kitchen ceiling. Hoping my step mother wouldn’t find out, our African maid helped me clean up the mess.  (Most “White” homes in South Africa had a maid who cooked, kept house and cared for the children when parents were away).

As a child, who was your favorite relative?

My grandmother (granny).  She was sharp witted, had a good sense of the ridiculous and was a fabulous baker of yummy treats.  Her Sunday roasts were a childhood highlight.  She thought I was pretty wonderful.

What did you or did not like about the first apartment you ever rented?

I moved into my own apartment when I was nineteen.  It was in Green Point, Cape Town, South Africa and overlooked the sea – away in the distance.  It was a studio apartment on the sixth floor.  When the ranch sliders were opened I felt like I was sitting in the clouds.  It was my own and furnished with new pieces (thanks to my step-mother and father).

What I did not like was it was a building of single people some of whom lived in isolation because of mental illness.  In the short time I lived there four people took their own lives.  I moved out after the fourth suicide.  I have not lived alone since then.

What kind of TV commercial would you like to make? Describe it.

I’d want to promote a new piece of technology.  The advertisement would be short, pack a punch and have a little humour.  I like this one:

Bonus questions:  

What are you grateful for from last week?

That I started making my Christmas cards.

What are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

A four day weekend away in our camper trailer.  The weather forecast is for warm but cloudy days.

