Share Your World – 2014 Week 40

sywbannerYou’re given $500,000 dollars tax free (any currency), what do you spend it on?

  1. Responsible me:  Pay the mortgage and invest the balance
  2. Irresponsible me:  Travel around Australia in our camper trailer and then head overseas to eastern countries after that top to the bottom of Africa on safari stopping at every game reserve along the way.  Yep! Yep!  Show me the money!

What’s the finest education?

I learned a lot from school where I accumulated a lot of knowledge but it wasn’t until I travelled and started to use that knowledge experientially that I believe I became educated.  The same with tertiary qualifications; they give you a lot of information/knowledge but it isn’t until that knowledge is put into practice that it becomes education – in my mind.  Knowledge + experience = education.  Therefore the finest education is a combination of learning and then doing which I think you can gain by any number of activities in combination.  Like learning geography and then travelling, learning times tables and then playing shop-keeper-shop-keeper!

What kind of art is your favourite? Why?

Anything that looks like it has been created with purpose.  Why?  I like to understand what I’m looking at and I like it to stir something in me.

SoapboxI don’t like to think tax payers have paid for something that wasn’t created intentionally and I don’t mean intentional paint splashing.  Going to art school doesn’t make you an artist.  Nor does the fact that you may have been mentored by someone recognised in the art world.  Hold on while I hop on my soap box to say that I think the art world … has lost the plot.  Real art means something to most people – which means when anyone looks at a piece it evokes some internal stirring.  If art requires a plaque to explain itself, it’s lost me.  It is snobbery to assume that because you’ve made a mess with a paint brush others are too stupid to understand your ‘work’ and therefore require a five paragraph explanation as to why your mess is taking up wall space on tax payers art gallery walls.

Is there something that you memorised long ago and still remember?

Psalm 23 … ex-convent girl!

Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week

Grateful for the wonderful two week camping holiday the MOTH (Man of The House) and I enjoyed; that we travelled safely and arrived home rested, relaxed and rejuvenated.  Wonderful times together.

What are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

Good friends from New Zealand coming to visit for a couple of days.

Share Your World is hosted by Cee’s Photography

One thought on “Share Your World – 2014 Week 40

Your comments here

