Share Your World – 2014 Week 38

If you could be a tree or plant, what would you be?

My final years of school were spent in Pretoria, South Africa, which is known as the Jacaranda City because the streets are lined with these trees.  At certain times of the year (November/December) the blue-purple flowers drop, carpeting the avenues in a luxurious purple haze over which vehicles roll and pedestrians tread.  I like trees that are airy and whisky and through which the skies filter.  These trees are deciduous so have a time of the year when they look less than their gorgeous selves.  For a few months  it is hard to imagine how they will pull off their annual magic and transform themselves into the queen of trees.  Perhaps others can relate to this but my ‘down time’ of the year is August and September when I’m generally out of sorts with so many aspects of my life.  Spring brings a fresh perspective sweeping aside the dull, bored and lustreless mindset I tend to wear during the colder months.  Yes, I’m definitely a Jacaranda waiting to burst out in a purple haze of dizzy excitement.

jacaranda1

If you could have a servant come to your house every day for one hour, what would you have them do?

Cleaning, housework, ironing, tidying and sorting piles of stuff into other manageable piles of stuff.

If you could have an endless supply of any food, what would you get?

Fresh seasonal fruit and vegetables … delivered to my door or somewhere close that I could pick my own.

What was one of your first moneymaking jobs (other than babysitting or newspaper delivery)?

Uncle Bob gave me a holiday job working in the accounts department.  I thought I was doing work experience but to receive a pay packet at the end of the school holidays gave me a huge confidence boost.  It was the first time I received payment for working.

Bonus questions:
What are you grateful for from last week?

That we are on a two week camping holiday in a part of Australia to which we have not travelled before.  New scenery, landscapes, people and many photo opportunities.  Reading; blogging at any time of the day; taking photos; and the complete lack of routine.  On Thursday when it rained most of the day, I stayed in my cozy camp bed and read, drank coffee and listened to the rain on the canvas – bliss and so much happiness.

What are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

Another week of camping.

Thank you Cee for these prompts.

sywbanner

2 thoughts on “Share Your World – 2014 Week 38

  1. Great combo of answers! I love the jacaranda part. They sure are beautiful when in flower, and after planting our tree about six years ago, I am hoping it will at last put forth blossoms this year.
    We went through some very heavy rain on our trip home Thursday through where you are. 🙂

    Like

Your comments here

