Something is Missing

It has been a long time since I sat nights at the sewing machine stitching bits and pieces of fabric together.  In fact it has been a long time since I have done any craft outside of writing for the blog.

The three months of Winter have usually been crafting months.  Christmas cards are made in advance, quilts are stitched and despatched, photos from the year are scrapbooked and  cards are made for celebrations in the months ahead.  Since blogging those creative outlets have been swept aside and I miss them.

The routine of writing every day has been supported by participating in blog challenges and receiving feedback/comments from readers as well as visiting and commenting on other blogs.  But I have other passions and if I am honest it is becoming harder to focus and put in the research required for the topics I enjoy writing about.

When this post goes out there will be two more days to bring a month of daily blogging with the Ultimate Blog Challenge (UBC) to a close.  I am tired too from end of financial year stats gathering and report writing.  The palpable tension in the office is draining and we’re  being frightfully PC lest we fan the smouldering pot.

This too shall pass.

Your turn now.  How have you managed blogging fatigue?

 

6 thoughts on “Something is Missing

  1. I try and do at least two posts a week. I find with two I’m able to do all the other things which I really enjoy doing. When I did more it began to interfere with those things and blogging started to drain me and wasn’t a pleasure any more. Two posts a week – that works for me Linda. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much Don, for your reflection on what works for you. Obviously others have similar experiences to mine and I’m going to learn from them and take a step back for a short while. Two or three posts is more practical given my work and the other things I’d like to get time for.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Having an almost full-time job as you have, and putting out a daily blog entry takes a lot of time and commitment! There are only so many hours in the day, and you need a third of them for rest. It’s no wonder then that your energy is flagging and other creative interests have been pushed to one side.
    That kind of problem is one of the reasons I ended up not taking on the UBC this month. When I write a blog post, I want it to reflect my thinking on my own topics, and not to write just for the sake of posting daily. So I have been doing only 2 or 3 a week.
    I’m not against daily posts in general, but it is a big commitment, and I have other activities that I see as of equal or greater importance. I have the first draft of my second novel to complete, and that was taking second place to my blogging. For the first time in many weeks I worked on that today and got a chapter done.
    I also do scrapbooking, and I am so far behind that it’s not funny! So I have been getting back into doing that over the last two weeks. It’s good to see it coming along. 🙂
    I think that developing blogging fatigue means that it has become a chore rather than something you really want to do. Perhaps you need to take a rest once July is over, and just post weekly for a while. That may also give you time to get into your craft activities for the month or two that remains of winter. 🙂
    I do look forward to reading your entries though.

    Like

    • Dear Linda, thank you so much for your kind words and wisdom, I value them. The other comments reflect similar sentiments and I will be doing just that, taking a step back even for a week or so. The idea of two or three times a week sounds manageable, but maybe after a little rest.

      Liked by 1 person

Your comments here

