Bitches Get Stuff Done

At various junctures of my life I’ve been criticised and disdained for being a Type A personality.  It wasn’t something that particularly worried me as those that were applying the label weren’t individuals I would be aspiring to emulate at any point in my career.  The behaviours they objected to were what make me the person I am and without changing persona I reasoned I was pretty much stuck with those traits.

Until recently it hasn’t bothered me except that having ‘come out’ as an introvert (who wants to be an introvert in a world that admires, rewards and chases after extroverts) I have been prompted to examine the ways I cope with stressful situations.  Furthermore, I wanted to understand why I respond to certain stressors the way I do.  Hence, the delving into research and chatting with friends and colleagues.

With a little help from my friends at work, here’s a list of things that drive me crazy and put me at the “A” end of the spectrum.

1 Not good in queues; impatient
2. A perfectionist, overachiever and extremely conscientious
3. Make things happen at work; focussed on the goal; ticking off the to-do list
4. Anything that wastes time stresses me out
5. Have been known to interrupt and talk over people
6. Everything at work is urgent
7. Driven and impatient
8. Don’t handle stress very well
9. It’s difficult for us to unwind and chill out; those chill pills taste nasty
10. Zero tolerance for incompetence

I’ve learned that I am a goal-setter able to identify the final outcome and work to smaller milestones along the way.  That’s where the ubiquitous to-do list comes in handy.  Because of this singular focus on the end product I find it difficult to be tolerant of half-hearted efforts.

NBC / Via reactiongifs.com

NBC / Via reactiongifs.com

With a list of adjectives that include: driven, impatient, intolerant and stressed I wanted to find some positives – that weren’t my opinion of type A’s.  Here’s one snippet of interesting information I found … some research indicates our personality type may be tied to our blood type.

  • Blood Type B – Blood type B individuals tend to be balanced: thoughtful like A’s and yet ambitious like O’s. They are empathetic, easily understanding others’ points of view, yet often hesitating to challenge or confront. Chameleon-like and flexible, they make good friends.

So while bitches do get stuff done there is always a balance.  I can set my mind to a task and get the job done while on the other hand finding time to be considerate and empathic towards colleagues and clients.

Working in the drug and alcohol sector as a counsellor the Type A personality traits have been an asset in circumstances where I have had to advocate on behalf of clients to help find a way to improve their lives.  Being assertive, focussed and committed to an outcome are personality traits I value.

How about you?  Have you identified your personality traits?  Which ones do you value in your work or home role?

Your comments here

