Deliciously Smug Rebellion

Does pressure ever make you want to rebel and do the exact opposite of what is being asked of you?

Shame on me, but absolutely yes, yes and yes again!  And that’s from someone who should know better.  Ask me nicely and I’ll give you 110%. Ask me in anger or condescension and the rebellious dander is awakened.

Smug CatIn younger years rebellion was an overt happening.  With the wiliness of age my rebellion has gone underground.  I have tempered the streak somewhat but my glee barometer is just as responsive as earlier days.  The greater the irritation caused by a recalcitrant act, the greater the glee factor.  As childlike as it may be I am never disappointed by my boss‘ reaction to my pretence of not having heard, or deleting the email “without reading it’, or deliberately taking longer than necessary to complete an urgent task.  The more panicked she becomes at my dalliances the more smug (and gleeful) I become.  Horrid, isn’t it!

Well, she could have lost the snipe and snicker and she would have my 110%.  Bad mistake lady!Smug Koala

Sliding down the other side of 50, or is it 60 one would think a lifetime of gathering wisdom and grace would equip said one to behave better.  But no, it hasn’t.  Some inappropriate behaviours are just too irksome to let go.

Well, here we are at the end of another week.  How time flies when we’re having fun.  A two day break from NaBloPoMo’s topic of the month:  pressure.  Not a break from blogging every day of January though.  So look out over the weekend for two more stress busters that replenish my emotional tanks.  Activities that bring relief from the pressures of both work and the duties of being the wonderful wife that I indubitably am to the MOTH (man of the house) .

2 thoughts on “Deliciously Smug Rebellion

  1. I can certainly relate to this, especially when I was younger, less understanding and less tolerant. Years ago, a couple of my kids never learned that the more they argued and pushed me to give up smoking, the more determined I became not to. How stupid is that!?
    However I find that I can take other people’s “suggestions” more as advice and less as orders now!
    But I must admit to being glad I no longer do paid work for a boss! You lose a lot of that stress when you retire. 🙂

    Like

Your comments here

