Perfection: Unwelcome Here

Do you feel pressure to be perfect?  How much of it is tied to what you’ve seen on-line?

I have always been grateful for the good education my parents worked hard to give me.  This appreciation came decades later when I began thinking about the values that influenced my formative years.  Over the course of the twelve years that most of us spend attending school those values and beliefs took root by a kind of educational osmosis rather than any propounding of a set of life rules and measures.

The nuns instilled in us the drive to do our best rather than attain perfection which they quite rightly pointed out was God’s domain.  I remember one sage dear telling us that seeking perfection was an affront to God because we were trying to improve on his creation.  The only conclusion to be drawn from such a revelation was that to seek perfection was sinful.  Big amen to that sista!

I think pressure imposed by on-line information targets younger women and has been detrimental to a generation’s self esteem.  Portraying the perfect body shape and size have lead to health issues, both mental and physical.   Happily I am unaffected by the on-line propaganda and even though my body shape and size are less than perfect I’m okay with that.  The triangle shape of my body means I have wide shoulders, big bazookas, small hips, no bum, and gorgeous legs (I’ve been told).   Just right to be me.

I also have no interest in emulating someone else, either in how they look, and even less in how they behave, particularly the celebrities the media portray as having it all.  There is absolutely no appeal whatsoever to look or behave like those women.  Which brings me to … my body size.  This is best described as somewhere between the Vicar of Dibley and Bubble (Absolutely Fabulous).  So again just the perfect size to be me … and reducing (this year, I hope).

While learning to ‘chill out’ I also learned to let things go that didn’t measure up to my ridiculous expectations (of myself and others).  I understood that I didn’t have to be perfect, achieve everything or do it all on my own.  It seems like another life now and I’m far more content.  Being content is more achievable than happiness which, like perfection is unattainable because there’s always the next thing.

Not striving to be perfect acts as a protective factor and saves me a lot of strife.  Like the fear of failure, mucking up or falling short of other’s expectations.  It doesn’t even make me sad to think that I may never become the next Nobel Peace Prize winner.  Why?  Because I do not feel the pressure to be anything more than I am.   I can be better than I am but not more.  In fact I’m working this year on becoming less than I am.  How about that!  And how about you?  How perfectly you, are you?

Your comments here

