Handle it well or Fall Apart, it all Depends

Friday, January 17, 2014
Do you think you handle pressure well, or do you usually fall apart?

Stress is caused by the unknown, for me.  If a work colleague’s attitude changes or their tone become sharp and I don’t know what I’ve done to cause the change (because it’s always about me) then I get stressed.  If I am assigned a new task and it hasn’t been fully explained I feel the pressure to complete something about which the outcome is unclear.  Those who know me will tell you I do not enjoy surprises.  I like to know where I’m going and when and where I’m going to be sleeping that night.  It doesn’t matter how loose the arrangements, just having an inkling is enough.  In these circumstances I do not do pressure well and I certainly don’t enjoy the feelings that accompany it.

Anticipated pressure is far easier to manage.  Time to plan short, medium and long term goals help to reduce the chance of feeling stressed.   It depends on the circumstances as to whether or not I’ll courageously forge ahead or whether I’ll collapse in a heap.  In the course of my working with people who are disadvantaged I rarely fall apart.  I think that’s because most of the situations we face together I’ve been in previously with other clients.   There are only two possible outcomes:  either good or bad.  If the outcome is bad for my client then my thinking moves into problem solving which seems to diffuse the stress.  If it is a good outcome – no problem.

thLTMB6KJ1

Another circumstance in which I manage stress well is a personal crisis where others are relying on my support.  I can be emotionally available and seemingly un-phased by the tension; able to think clearly and make decisions for everyone.  If they saw the fall out after they’d gone home they would be surprised.    It would mess with their opinion that nothing gets to me.  It does.  Big time.  Just not in front of others.

Last day of the week and here we all are, still.  I am proud of my commitment thus far and have not experienced any doubts about being able to keep up.  I’m enjoying visiting other blogs and leaving at least one or two comments on various blogs each day.  Two days of weekend downtime.  We’ve been so active around the property recently I’m looking forward to play time.  Would like to go and see the movie One Chance (or is it Last Chance), finish reading my book (The Paris Wife), continue with the next book in the Game of Thrones series, swim and lie in the sun.  Feeling relaxed already.  Catch you tomorrow with another post about the activities that fill my emotional tanks and help to relieve the pressure.

How about you, what are you doing to love on yourself this weekend?

One thought on “Handle it well or Fall Apart, it all Depends

Your comments here

