Today I have a choice

Do you see the glass as half full or half empty? NaBloPo December prompt

The greatest gift I ever gave myself  was a one way ticket to a beautiful coastal city 1000 miles away.  Away from the negatively charged environment my parents called home.

When the train pulled into Cape Town  station I knew this was where I belonged.  The sea air rushed into my lungs like it couldn’t wait to take up residence, to infuse new life into the sad soul that had been my dwelling place for too long.  For the first time in my life I felt happy.  Joyously, stupidly, wildly pleased with myself  – for the first time – ever.  It’s an amazing memory, as fresh today as the day I stepped to the platform on Cape Town station.

So what has that got to do with glass half full or empty?  Two days on a train is a long time to ponder things I’d never  considered before  and the prospect of solving a few problems of my own on my own was exciting.  Looking forward to managing things alone was daunting but the consequences would be of my own making and I learned there are few decisions that can’t be redirected to a more favourable end.

No longer would I have to futilely aim for perfection, that ever elusive pie in the sky, that was our father’s benchmark.  I decided good enough was okay too.  That change affected my outlook on life and was an epiphany.  It was a wonderful day that I got my brave on and courageously walked away from the cold cloying fingers of negativity, perfectionism and unhappiness.

From that day I covenanted with myself to focus on the good in my life.  The glass is always half full.  Why wouldn’t it be, I have a husband who’s language of love is service;  each night I return home to beautiful meals.  Our home and garden are quiet and relaxing places to sit and muse,  my work is fulfilling.

I’m just too blessed to focus on the wine that has already been consumed when there’s still some left to enjoy.  Sure health, tragedy and human misfortune touch us too but with a brave attitude and a grateful heart you learn to look for the good.  Sometimes the only good in a desperate situation is to reach out to someone else.  That alone is good enough to keep the glass half full.

The journey is one of choices.  Today I choose to find opportunities in every situation.  How about you?

“In the depth of winter, I finally learned

within me lay an invincible summer.”  

Albert Camus

Your comments here

